Australia Nature Prize Shortlist

The Nature Conservancy Australia Nature Writing Prize 2012

Australia Writing Contest 2012 AUS


The Nature Conservancy Australia is delighted to announce the shortlist for the second biennial Australia Nature Writing Prize!

The inaugural Australia Nature Writing Prize was awarded in 2011 to Annamaria Weldon for her piece 'Threshold Country'. The winner of this $5,000 biennial prize will be announced on Wednesday 13th March in Melbourne.

Short listed for this year's award are:

• Liam Davison
• Lindsay Simpson
• Margaret Barbalet
• Stephen Wright
• Tamsin Kerr

The competition's judges Geordie Williamson—literary critic with The Australian—and Dr Janine Burke, distinguished biographer, art historian and author of The Nest, found the standard of entries so extraordinarily high that determining the short list was a significant challenge.

Congratulations to our shortlisted applicants and to everyone who submitted an essay. Stay tuned for the winner next month!